ECOBUILDING Pulse Awards Programs


The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing honors individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary, lasting, and far-reaching contributions to the advancement of sustainable housing in the United States. The Hanley Award is a $50,000 cash prize, the largest annual prize ever established for advancing sustainable housing. The Hanley Award is the industry’s premier award recognizing achievements in environmental building and is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, Hanley Wood, and BUILDER and EcoHome magazines. The goal of the award is to address critical environmental challenges, and to acknowledge and encourage the housing industry’s response. Learn more about The Hanley Award.


The AIA COTE Top Ten Green Project Awards are awarded annually by the AIA’s Committee on the Environment (COTE) and recognizes ecological design thinking. With an emphasis on holistic thinking, the program recognizes 10 projects for their successful integration of exemplary aesthetics, performance, community connection, social responsibility, and stewardship of the natural environment. In addition, in 2013, AIA COTE launched the AIA COTE Top Ten Plus award, designed to recognize a past AIA COTE Top Ten Green Project for its on-going high-performance.


While no longer in operation, the ECOHOME Design Awards presented by ECOHOME magazine honored the best sustainable homes for outstanding design, high-performance features, environmental performance, and site and community integration. Winners each year were chosen from an open call for entries and reviewed by a panel of industry experts. The awards were discontinued in 2013.


From 2008-2012, the Evergreen Awards, presented by ECOSTRUCTURE magazine, recognized outstanding design and environmental performance in the commercial building realm. Winners were chosen each year in categories representing new construction, existing buildings, commercial interiors on-the-boards work. In addition, the competition included a residential category and a Perspective category, which recognized a green-building professional for his or her work moving the green-building industry forward. The awards were discontinued in 2013.



The Hanley Award

  • A Conversation with Dennis Creech, 2013 Recipient of The Hanley Award

    We chat with Dennis Creech, the 2013 recipient of the Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing about his career, the importance of efficient and high-performing housing, and what he will do with his prize money.

    ECOHOME September 13, 2013

  • Are You Up to the Challenge of Net-Zero Energy?

    In the third installment of a three-part series on past winners of the Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing, Sam Rashkin, the 2012 award winner, talks about raising the bar for performance.

    ECOHOME August 21, 2013

  • Is Resilience the New Motivation for Sustainability?

    In the second installment of a three-part series on past winners of the Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing, Alex Wilson, the 2010 award winner, talks about on how the prize funded a bike ride that changed his career.

    ECOHOME August 14, 2013


AIA Committee on the Environment Top Ten Green Projects


ECOSTRUCTURE Evergreen Awards

  • 2012 Evergreen Award Winning Firm: Paladino & Co.

    "We expect more companies to move away from the idea of sustainability-as-compliance."

    Along with Gensler, this firm is the other half of the design team behind the new Tower at PNC Plaza in Pittsburgh, Pa., scheduled to be completed in 2015. In this Q&A, they discuss the project and their philosophy.

    eco-structure October 24, 2012

  • The lobby is nicknamed the urban room for its inviting feel, which should connect the building to the surrounding neighborhood.

    The 2012 Evergreen Awards: The Tower at PNC Plaza

    On the Boards Winner

    PNC's ambitious new headquarters under construction in Pittsburgh wins the 2012 Evergreen Awards On the Boards category.

    eco-structure October 24, 2012

  • 2012 Evergreen Award Winning Firm: G•O Logic

    G•O Logic believes that performance must be proven with data.

    The a Q&A with the firm behind the dormitory at Unity College in Unity, Maine, winner of the 2012 Evergreen Award in the Residential category.

    eco-structure October 23, 2012


ECOHOME Design Awards

  • Image

    EHDA Merit Award: Project Green Home

    CUSTOM, 2,000 TO 4,000 SQUARE FEET

    Palo Alto, Calif., Passive House touts greywater system and urine-diverting toilets.

    ECOHOME July 19, 2012

  • Image

    EHDA Merit Award: Killingsworth Station


    Portland, Ore., infill project for both market-rate and low-income buyers promotes low-income affordable housing along light-rail line.

    ECOHOME July 19, 2012

  • Image

    EHDA Grand Award: VOLKsHouse


    This Santa Fe, N.M., house shows how production housing and net-zero energy can go hand in hand.

    ECOHOME July 19, 2012

AIA COTE Top Ten logo


Follow our extensive coverage of this year’s winners.


Check Out Our Latest Videos

Click here to access exclusive green building videos.