The EPA has announced that new multifamily high-rise buildings are now eligible to qualify as Energy Star projects.

In the past, only single-family homes and individual units in low-rise multifamily buildings were eligible to earn the Energy Star certification. To qualify, new or substantially rehabilitated multifamily high-rise buildings must meet energy-efficiency guidelines set by the EPA and be designed to be at least 15% more energy efficient than buildings that meet the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers energy use standard. Qualified buildings feature a combination of energy-efficient improvements including:
·         Effective insulation systems
·         Properly sized heating and cooling equipment
·         Tight construction and ducts
·         Energy Star-qualified lighting and appliances
·         High-performance windows

An independently licensed professional engineer or architect is required to verify that the program’s requirements are met through on-site testing and inspections conducted throughout the construction process.

For more information on Energy Star qualified multifamily high-rise buildings, visit