The Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI) has named 34 industry practitioners as the inaugural class of LEED Fellows, the high professional honor designated by the organization. The USGBC formally recognized the 2011 class of fellows during Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in Toronto, Canada.

To be considered for the program, nominees must be LEED Accredited Professionals (LEED APs) with specialty (such as LEED AP BD+C) who have held the LEED AP credential for eight cumulative years, and must document a total of at least 10 years of experience in the green-building field. Nominees to the program are evaluated on four of five elements: Technical proficiency, education and mentoring, leadership, commitment and service, and advocacy.

The 2011 LEED Fellows are:

Alan Scott, FAIA, GreenBuildingServices 

Alicia Ravetto, AIA, Alicia Ravetto Architect

Anthony Bernheim, FAIA, AECOM 

Chris Schaffner, the Green Engineer

Christopher J. Webb, Chris Webb & Associates

Dagmar B. Epsten, The Epsten Group

Dan Nall, FAIA, WSP Flack + Kurtz 

Dan Young Dixon, Opus AE Group 

Gail Vittori, Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems 

Helen J. Kessler, HJKessler Associates 

Jerry Yudelson, Yudelson Associates 

Jim Ogden, 3QC Inc. 

Jim Weiner, AIA, Collaborative Project Consulting 

John Boecker, 7group 

Kath Williams, Kath Williams + Associates 

Kathleen Smith, DavisLangdon

Ken Wilson, FAIA, Envision 

Kim Shinn, TLC Engineering for Architecture 

Kris Callori, Environmental Dynamics, Inc. 

Lidia Berger, HDR Architecture, Inc. 

Lois Vitt Sale, AIA, Wight & Co. 

Malcolm Lewis, CTG Energetics, Inc. 

Marcus B. Sheffer, 7group 

Mario Seneviratne, Green Technologies 

Michaella Wittmann, HDR Architecture 

Michelle Halle Stern, AIA, Perkins+Will 

Nellie Reid, Gensler 

Paul Marmion, Stantec 

Prasad Vaidya, International Assoc. AIA, The Weidt Group 

Rick Carter, FAIA, LHB, Inc. 

Rob Bolin, Syska Hennessy Group 

Sandra Leibowitz, AIA, Sustainable Design Consulting

Stephen Carpenter, Enermodal Engineering 

Tom Liebel, FAIA, Marks, Thomas Architects

The nomination period for the 2012 class of LEED Fellows will open on Jan. 4, 2012.